Janie Moore Greene Scholarship Grant

Information for Applicants and Award Criteria

Applications for the 2018 Janie Moore Greene Grant are now closed. Please check back in August 2019 for information about the 2019 grant cycle.

This scholarship grant of $1,000 is awarded to a student currently enrolled in, or who has been accepted to, an institution of higher education specializing in the study of photography through the generosity of Janie Moore Greene.

Application Requirements

  • Currently be enrolled in, or having been accepted to, an institution of higher education specializing in the study of photography. This includes 2-year or 4-year colleges, art/design schools or photography schools.
  • Undergraduate and graduate students are welcome to apply.
  • Scholarship awards will be paid directly to the institution of higher education at which the student is or will be enrolled.
  • Relatives of members of the Selection Committee are ineligible for this award.

Application Process

To apply, complete and submit the online application form. All applications must be submitted online. No mailed applications will be accepted. Be sure to attach all relevant materials to your online application.

NOTE: The online submission process does not allow an applicant to complete a part of the application, save his/her work, and return to complete the remainder of the application at a later date. Do not start the application form until you are prepared to submit the entry in its entirety. A PDF of the application can be downloaded to use as a guide in preparing your application. You must then type in (or copy/paste) your responses to the question in the online application when you are ready to submit a complete application.

Winners will be notified by email and will be announced at the next NANPA Nature Photography Summit and Trade Show.


Past Recipients

2018 – Jake Brown Homovich
2017 – Kelsey Gramza
2016 – Jiayu Su
2015 – Michelle A. Butler
2012 – Derek Fong
2011 – Erin Heath
2010 – Rakel Halvarson
2009 – Megan Miles and Chen Wang
2008 – McNair Evans and Hunter Nichols
2007 – Lynon Lohf; Tom Spindle
2006 – Given in honor of Mary Ann McDonald to Paul Colangelo
2005 – Stefan Petranek
2003 – Given in honor of Connie Toops to Nancee Eichengreene
2001 – Given in honor of Heather Angel to John Hafner
2000 – Given in honor of Patricia Caulfield to Jennifer Weinberg
1997 – Given in honor of Helen Longest-Saccone to Christopher Dydyk
1996 – Given in honor of Ann Guilfoyle to Jon Holloway